SharePoint is a digital collaboration system that uses list databases, workflow applications, and other web components to allow business teams to work together more efficiently. For nearly two decades, it’s been integral in enabling secure sharing, workflow collaboration, and content management among Fortune 500 companies across all business sectors. Its many features make it ideal for collaboration between multiple individuals sharing information, publishing documents, and recording data for the same project.

How to create a shared folder in SharePoint with users outside of your organization

The documents and folders you store in SharePoint are private until you share them. You can choose to let people edit or view your files by sharing them. Follow these steps to create a shared folder:

  1. On the “Home” tab, select “New” and then select “Shared Folder.”
  2. Enter a name for the shared folder and click “OK.”
  3. Select an option for creating or synchronizing and click “OK.”
  4. If prompted, choose a folder location — either for using an existing folder or creating a new folder — and click “OK.”

Sharing permissions with specific users

When you choose the “Specific People” option, you can share folders or files with external users. The user can enter the additional login passcode for authentication.

Security is one of the most significant advantages of the “Specific People” option. A shared link will work only for those with a passcode. In addition, you can easily see who changes content since the users log in with their email addresses. One of the cons, however, is that you have to manually remove the users’ access to the shared content.

Anonymous SharePoint file sharing

You can also share files with external users with the “Anyone” link. This feature is the default option in OneDrive for Business, but you must enable it in SharePoint. This option does not require external users to enter passcodes.

This file-sharing option offers a few key advantages:

  • It requires no additional steps or clicks.
  • It does not permit an anonymous user to delete content, even if granted editing permissions.
  • It has extra security features built in.

The most significant disadvantage is that you’ll never know who accessed the content since the user does not require authentication.

How to revoke or modify access

Once a user no longer needs access to a file or folder, you can revoke it by selecting “Manage Access” and choosing the X icon. This action will remove access for a single user. You can also modify access levels by using the dropdown menu.

Connect with AGIO

Connect with Agio today

If you have questions about SharePoint or your organization’s existing technology solutions, the Agio team is here to help. Contact us online or call us at 877-780-2446 today.

See also  How to Back Up and Sync SharePoint